Who are the longest-serving deputies in Republic of Moldova

Dumitru Diacov, Maria Postoico, Mihai Ghimpu and Vladimir Voronin are the longest-serving MPs in the legislature of 20th century.

Dumitru Diacov was deputy in seven parliamentary legislatures since independence. He started his parliamentary activity in 1994. He was Chairman of the Foreign Policy Commission, Vice-President of Parliament, and from 1998 to 2001 he was President of Parliament. Cumulatively, Dumitru Diacov has 22 years of experience in Parliament.

Maria Postoico has been a deputy since 1998, reelected in Parliament for successive seven legislatures. In Parliament she was the Chair of the Legal Commission, Appointments and Immunities, President of the Commission for State Security and Public Order, and from 2005 to 2009 she was Vice-President of the Legislature. Maria Postoico has been a deputy in Parliament for 21 years.

Mihai Ghimpu, who began his activity as a deputy in the first parliament in 1990, is one of the signatories of the Declaration of Independence of the Republic of Moldova in the list of the longest-serving deputies. He was Deputy Chairman of the Legal Commission, Appointments and Immunities in the First Parliament. Between 2009 and 2010, he was President of the Parliament. Cumulatively, Mihai Ghimpu has been deputy for 18 years.

Vladimir Voronin started his parliamentary activity in 1980, in the Supreme Soviet of the 10th legislature of the SRM. He was deputy in five parliamentary legislatures after declaring independence. Vladimir Voronin was President of the Parliament from April to July 2009.
Related news

Lasă un comentariu